Looking for Christmas

I’m looking hard for Christmas this year.  I feel my broken edges, sharp and pointy, and I’m tired and weary from the world.  I’m needing something holy.  I’m trying to find Jesus, trying hard to see the babe in swaddling clothes, the one who brings light and love and makes things right again.

Maybe Christmas looks like twinkly lights, strung along roof lines and spun around bushes.  Is this holiness – these tiny dots of light, twisted and tied into a brighter picture?  One small LED bulb isn’t much on its own, but step back a bit and I can see the shape of a reindeer, or the letters that spell out “peace.”

My small light isn’t much on its own, either.  Sometimes, even, a bulb or two are missing or out.  Maybe if I string my little light offerings with your little sparks we can step back and see His burst of glory, the grand story spelled out in twinkles.  Peace for each other, one small light at a time.

Today I’m sharing with Christie Purifoy as part of her Advent Series.  I’ve had the joy of visiting with Christie at her old farmhouse, and the kids got a kick out of collecting eggs from her chickens.  I’m honored to be included in her beautiful community of writers.  Today i’m writing about looking for Christmas, and ultimately it finding me in the most unexpected places.  It’s about holiness. And light, and rock concerts. 

Join me there?

Leave a Reply

