(floating down the) streams of consciousness

This may turn out to be one of the most random stream-of-consciousness type posts, but I am very scattered at the moment so this seems to reflect my current state of being.  In no particular order, here are a few things that are on my mind:

bipolar three year olds: You might know one, have one, been one yourself.  (I’m pretty sure my mom is nodding vehemently at this point.  sigh.  Karma?)  It goes something like this —  we’re driving happily in the car listening to a CD, which happens to be of the more grown-up variety (that is to say, not silly songs in which the best part is “same song, second verse; a little bit faster and a little bit worse”).  Said three-year-old had been enjoying the music, clapping and dancing intermitently, but when he got a chance he asked for more of his music, specifically a particular song that we’ve heard countless times in the past 2 days.  I kindly put his request off, suggesting that when we finished with this CD we would choose another of his.  Without pause, without escalation, he heads straight into full meltdown:  the screaming, the kicking the car seat, the tears.  (To which I ask of myself: what just happened here?  I thought we were having fun).  By the time the next song is on (still music of my choice, not his) he is laughing again, and congratulating himself for pulling it together.  Man, I’ve got to laugh, too, or else I’d start acting like a bipolar three year old myself.  

yum:  Can’t wait to make these Banana Blueberry Muffins, but just when I think I’ve got the ingredients, I open the fridge to find the blueberries all gone!  I’m loving all the fresh fruit at the Market these days, and can’t seem to keep enough of it around.  Guess I’m going to run to the Orchard later to restock.  I’ll let you know how they turn out.

vacation envy:  Quite a few friends lately have shared about their dreamy family vacations.  Mostly these aren’t extravagant or lavish escapes to exotic places but more like family camping trips and beach excursions.  But, I still have such envy.  I do have a vacation to look forward to, in September, but my husband won’t be able to join us for the full time, and I’m sad for that.  This time of year I desire deeply to not be ruled by the clock, to be barefoot for days, to be sandy always, to eat lots of Smarties, and read lots of books.  To have something special that will remain always in vacationland.  Weekends are nice, but I’m yearning for something more.

car questions: With a third child on the way, we are looking to buy a new car.  Right now, I drive a little sedan, which I have been coping with for a few years.  It’s a reliable car, which has been its reward, and now I’m glad that we didn’t upgrade last year or so, because we’d be in a jam now.  We have a pretty specific checklist for a vehicle.  I’m pretty little, so I don’t want to drive something that seems huge.  I don’t want to be lifting kids in and out of a car that is high up.  It needs to fit three car seats, and I’m kind of banking on three car seats in a row.  Does it make sense to think about extra room for car-pooling?  And what about gas mileage?  I’m hesitant to drive a mini-van, though recognize that I’ll drive whatever seems to make the most sense.  I’d love any feedback y’all have about whatever you drive. 

time to write:  Before I was pregnant, I liked to write during nap time.  It was a good way to break up my day, clear my head and get some thoughts out.  But now I’ve come to cling to nap time for my own napping. (I’m growing a person here, folks).  The kids seem to be waking earlier that ever before, and I’m not much of a morning person anyway, so even if I thought I could get up before them and start my day by writing, I’m not sure I’d actually beat them up.  By the time the evening rolls around, I’m spent, and still have to clean up the kitchen and tidy up the house, and take care of whatever paperwork, bills, etc. that need to be kept up with.  And then at some point my husband and I collapse on the couch together for about 45 mins of watching something on TV.  (I know that this is important time for us, even if we’re watching silly stuff, so I’m not giving it up).  I’m just trying to fit in some writing here and there when I can, which is why I have been random with my postings, random with my thoughts.  It’ll all even out at some point (I’m sure only to be rocked by another change in routine), but for now, stick with me. What are your writing routines?

reading:  a lot.  The new Vanity Fair issue.  State of Wonder by Ann Patchett.  The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.  Same Kind of Different as Me by Ron Hall.  And I finally got myself a copy of Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts.  And these are just the things I’m currently reading.  You should see my night table for my waiting list.  What is your nose in right now?

:: Do share whatever is on your mind ::

Leave a Reply

