if the weather holds

Last night, under the magic of the stars, my husband and I went to hear the Indigo Girls play at one of our very favorite places on earth.  It was a magical night, and though I was out way past my bedtime, on a Tuesday night no less, when my husband had to begin work at 6am this Wednesday morning, we are both truly thankful for the night.  Yes, it rained a bit on us, and yes we are both dragging a bit today, but it was so worth it.  Fifth row, dead center.

You see, the Indigo Girls, while I haven’t kept up with their new music, will always be special to me.  The very first CD that I ever owned was Nomads, Indians and Saints.  (OK, if I’m truly honest, it was the first CD my sister ever owned, and I traded with her).  As an angst-y pre-teen/teen I treasured the poetry of their lyrics; magic with words that I hadn’t experienced before.  The images and feelings their songs inspired in me helped me relate to the world as I found my place in it.

When I met my husband, I was still a bit of an angst-y teenager, and I brought him into my world of thought and introspect.  He met me there.  I introduced him to the music of the Indigo Girls.  For us to have the evening to listen to them play amazing music, including so much good old stuff, it brought us back to some of our earlier days.  And, boy, we needed that.  I feel so strongly that it is our history that gets us through some of the tough times.  Not that we are necessarily in a desert time right now, but just that life with two small ones can often take us away from where we began, and last night was a strong reminder to go back there with each other.

Not only that, but my adult self needed to hear some things, too. Not just my emotionally-charged teen memories, but life lessons nuanced and true enough for my current place in life. They played “The Wood Song” last night, and it spoke to me, again, and anew.  For me, a true reminder of the joy of the journey.  “If the weather holds, then we’ll have missed the point,” right? And that’s where I need to go.

the thin horizon of a plan is almost clear
my friends and I have had a tough time
bruising our brains hard up against change
all the old dogs and the magician
now I see we’re in the boat in two by twos
only the heart that we have for a tool we could use
and the very close quarters are hard to get used to
love weighs the hull down with its weight

but the wood is tired
and the wood is old
and we’ll make it fine
if the weather holds
but if the weather holds 
then we’ll have missed the point
that’s were i need to go

no way construction of this tricky plan
was built by other than a greater hand
with a love that passes all our understanding
watching closely over the journey
yeah but what it takes to cross the great divide
seems more than all the courage i can muster up inside
but we get to have some answers when we reach the other side
the prize is always worth the rocky ride

but the wood is tired
and the wood is old
and we’ll make it fine if the weather holds
but if the weather holds
then we’ll have missed the point
that’s where i need to go

sometimes i ask to sneak a closer look
skip to the final chapter of the book
and maybe steer us clear from some of the pain that it took
to get us where we are this far
but the question drowns in its futility
and even i have got to laugh at me
cause no one gets to miss the storm of what will be
just holding on for the ride

the wood is tired
the wood is old
and we’ll make it fine
if the weather holds
but if the weather holds
then we’ll have missed the point
that’s where i need to go

3 thoughts on “if the weather holds

  1. So, SO great. There is a huge spot in my heart for the IG… and The Wood Song. It really is something to hear an old song at a new place in our lives and have it mean something amazing all over again. So glad you had a great night!

Leave a Reply

