gratitude

I have so much to be thankful for, so many blessings. I feel as though I haven’t had much to write about other than my grumbling about sleepless nights and worry.  But just a minute to take stock and look at my blessings, and my attitude is set right.  My blessings, as I see them right now (clearly not exhaustive):

**The strike is over.  Kids are (mostly) all better, and we’re sleeping again (for now).  We’re being provided for.  This was, (and continues to be) a reminder that I am being provided for always.  I have so many shortcomings, so many obstacles to being who I want to be, glory to God, and He fills them.  The cracks open wider, and His mercy is there.

**Mother’s Day.  This was not the morning I had planned: My dreams of sleeping or reading lazily in bed were nixed when the Eldest, in his three-year-old glory and fight, chose THIS morning to cry, fight, whine, scream, stomp, kick and argue about EVERYTHING.  Our house is small.  Too small to tune this out.  But, I am thankful that it is this family that makes me a mother. I am thankful that as a mother I am connected to all other mothers in our mother-ness, and I’m reminded of it especially on this day.  I am not ever alone.

**How can I count my blessings and not be over-the-moon thankful for this weather?  I don’t know what it’s like where you are, folks, but the past few days, and the next few, here, are glorious!  Low humidity, bright sunshine, mild spring breeze, seventy degrees.  Yes, please.  Glorious.

**Routine, rhythm, structure — whatever you want to call it.  With my husband back to work, mine begins to fall back into place.  As much as I love his unexpected company, often I can feel as though I’m a bit displaced when he’s here.  It’s tricky territory, sometimes, to navigate parenting side-by-side.  I’m thankful that when our weekends are over, instead of getting anxious about the week, I can count on our (semi) predictable days to remind me which direction to go.

**The sloppy kisses the Littlest is giving me these days.  Precious.  She squeezes her juicy mouth so hard to my cheeks, my chin, my lips, and with a loud and sumptuous smack makes her love so known. Then, from the Eldest: “Thank you, Mommy, for making this dinner for me.  I love my vegetables” he says (unprompted!)  These walking, in-the-flesh blessings.

**For fresh starts, always.  For new beginnings.  Thank you, Lord, for setting me straight, again and again.  And when I get down on things, may I always remember to pick my eyes up to gaze at my blessings.

What are you thankful for today?
 also, mama:monk always does a “thankful tuesday” – you might want to check that out, too.  

4 thoughts on “gratitude

    1. The Littlest loves her cucumbers! And I can’t wait to see what kind of harvest our garden brings in this summer, too. What are you growing? So far, we’re up to all sorts of beans, peas, cukes, squash, peppers, tomatoes, carrots and beets. Oh, and a number of lettuces! phew.

  1. You should know, I count you and your family among my greatest blessings. Thanks for Tuesdays. (and all days~)

Leave a Reply

