st. patrick’s day

Today will always first be my nephew’s birthday, and then St. Patrick’s Day.  Though a bit Irish, I have always found it hard to celebrate a holiday in which most people claim their heritage by swigging green beer.  I did, however, find this beautiful story and project that may be fun to incorporate into our family tradition.  While our culture may try to push leprechauns on us, I want to use the occasion to teach a beautiful story of faith, and give my little ones the chance to become part of it in their own creative way.  (I think I like this project, too, because it is so similar to the Godly Play way of teaching bible stories).

Also, tonight I will be making Shepherd’s Pie. But I don’t even own any green.

Happy Birthday, Nate!

Do you celebrate St. Patrick’s Day?  If you do, please share –what are you traditions?

Leave a Reply

